Love quotes, suck.

Being that it is September 11th, I thought it appropriate to reflect. I could ponder over the state of affairs in Chechnya (not great), scientific discoveries (a species of fish with two sets of jaws…so sci-fi), or the current book I’m reading at work (How I Became Stupid by Martin Page). Instead though, I think I’ll look at life in my apartment.

Yesterday evening went a little something like this:

Montana: I need a title for my paper.

(The paper is about a book on love. I haven’t read said book, but was told it was quote, “sappy.”)

Me: Love hurts.

Montana: No.

Me: All you need is love.

(Clearly, not putting much effort into being creative. For that, Montana…I apologize.)

Montana: No.

Me: Uuuummm, Love is blind.

Montana: No!

Me: Love makes the world go ’round.

Montana: Seriously…no.

(I’m sitting on the couch, getting ready to watch Ugly Betty again on abc.com. )

Montana: Before you watch that, listen to this.

Me: Listen to what?

Montana: My inspiration for the title of my finished paper.

Me: I don’t want to. I just want to watch Ugly Betty.

Montana: No! Listen, it’s a classic.

(At this point in time, “What’s Love Got to Do With It” by Tina Turner is turned on full blast.)

Me: I don’t want to listen this. I’m putting in my head phones.

(Ugly Betty starts to play on the screen. I watch for a minute, and then proceed to take off my headphones.)

Me: Hey, can you please turn that down. I can still hear it.

Montana: No.

Also, I thought it would be clever to title this post with some love quote I found on the Internet. Fortunately, or unfortunately…this did not happen. However, I still wanted to share what Danielle (I don’t actually know this person) posted on www.best-love-poems.com: “I love you. 3 words. 2 people. 1 meaning.” Aww. Reflect on that.

1 Comment

Filed under Friends, love. sort of.

One response to “Love quotes, suck.

  1. Rimma

    I just wanted to tell you that I love you. And to me, true love is when my soul recognizes its counterpart in another. I just thought you should know even if you don’t feel the same way. I had to do it because I think it is better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all. Although, secretly, I hope that you will not leave my feelings unrequited for your own sake. If you have not discovered it for yourself, love is what makes the world go round. Adieu mon cherie.

Leave a Reply

